Top 10 Women’s Clothing Hates

955b828c-d26b-409d-a2d4-385889177093Since I’ve way too much clothes and nowhere to put them, I’ve been forced to clear out my wardrobe. While rummaging through the depths of my wardrobe, finding clothing that probably hadn’t seen the light of day for many years, I noticed something. I buy clothes (thinking they’re nice), wear them once (if even) then take an extreme dislike to them and never wear them again. After having rid my wardrobe of the clothes I hated, I can now see how big of a problem this was and I’m guessing there’s a lot of other people with this problem. So, for this reason, I introduce to you My Top 10 Women’s Clothing Hates:

10.Clothes never look as good as on the mannequin.I fall for this all the time. I go into the shop, see a really nice outfit on the mannequin and decide to buy it. I take it home, put it on, do the big reveal for my sister and nieces, and they’re on the ground laughing at the state of me or looking at me with that “got to pretend she looks nice” face. At this point, I go to the mirror and realise I look like I’m auditioning for clown college or in fancy dress. I try returning these outfits, but as usual I can’t find the receipt, so to the back of the cupboard they go.

9.Pocket Size.This happens a lot with jeans and jeggings. I buy a new pair of jeans or jeggings. I’m walking about feeling all good, enjoying that new jeans feeling and I go to put my phone in my pocket. But oh wait, it doesn’t fit because these pockets are baby sized and my phone is normal size. Now I have to walk around holding my phone and try not to set it down and lose it. As you can tell this one winds me up something awful.

8.Boob gap in shirt buttons. Got to hate when you buy a shirt in a rush, goto put it on and button it up. Then realise it doesn’t fit around your boobs, leaving huge gap between the buttons, revealing what you got under your shirt. I don’t have biggest pair and this happens to me a lot, so I can’t even begin to imagine, how annoying this must be for the larger breasted lady,

7.Badly fitted clothes. It is ridiculously hard to find clothing, fitted for the realistically proportioned person. Usually what happens, is that a top will fits in the stomach but is too tight in the chest. I try a size bigger and it fits in the chest now, but is massive in the stomach. This then leaves me with the choice of either wearing a top that fits my stomach but may pop at the chest at any minute or that fits my chest but looks baggy as hell. Not wanting to spring out of my top, I always go for the latter.

6.Fake Pockets. The only thing that annoys me more than tiny baby pockets, is fake pockets. I’ve been tricked by this numerous times. I buy a jacket or coat, thinking it has pockets and that it’ll solve my baby pocket problem. Get it home and find out the pockets are fake. This has happened me with both really expensive coats and reasonably priced coats, so it can’t just be a “get what you pay for” problem. When I buy a coat that cost over £100 I expect those things posing as pockets, to actually be pockets and not just sewed on bits of material. This only annoys me more, when I realise my jeans have baby pockets, so pretty much still have no functioning pockets. I feel so cheated and betrayed by the clothing industry every time this happens and would really like it to stop. Like why do this, if you aren’t trying to trick people into thinking the clothes has pockets. I my opinion I consider it false advertisement and being misleading.

5.See through clothes.This can be really embarrassing if you don’t notice until you’re out in public or if someone points it out. Also, it kind of forces you to go out and spend more money on under tops if you ever want to wear that top again. I don’t understand why they make clothes like this. I am pretty sure most people don’t want to be walking around with their underwear showing, for all to see. This isn’t just a cheap clothing problem; a lot of designer clothes are see through now too. It leaves me questioning whether manufacturers have gotten so greedy that they’re using material so thin that its see trough, just to save on costs and increase profit. When think about it would make sense. Half the thickness, half the amount of material needed and charge the same price. Twice as much clothes can be made from the material, so double the profit. When people have no other choice but to buy this clothing, it’s really a no brainer.

4.Quality. This usually isn’t noticeable until clothes are washed for the first time. It’s so hard to find clothes that wash well. They either lost their shape, go all bally or shrink. Also, I’ve notice jean material is getting thinner and thinner, so jeans rip a whole lot easier. Basically, what I’m trying to say is clothes quality has gotten god awful and I can only see it getting worse. The stitching in clothes is even becoming completely rubbish. It undoes with barely any pulling or stretching. The other month in was in a shop and I found pyjama bottoms that weren’t stitched properly and had a massive whole in the leg. I showed them to the server at the till and they said they’ll get someone to check the rest of the bottom because it happens all the time. Like what the hell, is there no quality control. This shop is rather pricey so you would expect this to be rare. It seems like no thought has been put into quality at all.

3.Jean leg lengths. Being short, this is one of my biggest pet peeves when buying jeans. A few years ago, a short leg in jeans was 28iches and regular was 30iches, then suddenly most shops changed short leg to 30iches. I have baby legs, so just got away with 28iches, but now with this new sizing, short leg jeans are far too big and my feet get lost in the jeans. Every time I need new jeans, I have to go on a massive search for shops that still use the old leg sizes. It’s so annoying and kind of unfair that short people are no longer catered for by most shops. This problem could easily be fixed if shops started selling extra short legs at 28inches or went back to the old sizes.

2.Sizes. This relates to the previous point, but is more forced on the fact that there is no standardise sizes for women’s clothes. There can be a massive difference in the same clothes size in different shops. Just to make this more of a mind field, the same clothes size in different ranges in the same shop can differ greatly too. This means you have to try on everything and can’t trust the label, making clothes shopping take a lot longer than it has to. It’s so frustrating. Not sure how much of a problem this is for everyone else, but in my wardrobe, I have clothing ranging from UK size 12 to UK to 20. It’s crazy. How can clothing that meant to have just a big difference in size, still fit me equally as well. Completely Bananas.

1.They are not warm. I hate being cold so this is my number one hate. Where I live, it can reach -6oC or lower in winter, so when I buy winter clothes I want them to be warm. Unfortunately, most of the times they are not. Coat that claim to keep you warm, are like wearing nothing. I haven’t had a warm coat in years. This year the temperature dropped to -10oC and I was freezing. I had to run home and find my old coat and wear it under my new coat, just to be not as cold (I was still pretty cold). I find myself having to wear layers and layers of clothes just to stay remotely warm, even then the temperature isn’t below freezing. I don’t know if men clothing is the same, but really wish they made clothes that were truly warm.     

 

Leave a Reply

