Meet Tattoo Girl

20170524_100645 (1)I took the 3-year-old (Orly) shopping with me and she begged me to buy her tattoos. She said she wanted to be a tattoo girl. To be honest, I was going to be an old grump and tell her no, but the thoughts of her dressed up as a tattoo girl was too darn cute. So, I got her tattoos.

Before anyone goes crazy at me for what I let Orly do next, I would like to point out that these are temporary stick-on tattoos, for ages 3 and up, are non-toxic and can easily be removed with a bit of baby oil and cotton wool. So, as long as I supervise Orly, she can’t come to any harm from stick-on tattoos. Plus, you can’t expect the child to be like a doll and sit there covered in cotton wool, doing nothing all day. You have to encourage their creativity and let them experience new things. Orly loves dressing up and spend more time in dress-up clothes than normal clothes. For a 3-year-old she really good at putting a dress-up character together and it’s her creative outlet. So, if she wants to dress-up as a tattoo girl, I’m going to let her. It benefits her development greatly, so why not.

20170524_113814.jpgThe tattoos she picked out are pretty cool. A lot of little skulls and love hearts, not what you’d expect a little girl to pick. Unfortunately, they weren’t ready cut out so I had to cut them out for her.

The packet didn’t lie. It said easy to apply and they weren’t kidding. All it took to transfer the tattoo from the paper to Orly’s arm, was a wipe with a damp sponge. The child watched me do it once and she wanted to do it herself. To my surprise, she actually could. Tattoo girl is her character, so from there she had full rein and I let Orly do as she pleased with the tattoos.

vLuckily, she stuck to tattooing her arms, so removing these when she finished being tattoo girl shouldn’t take that long. Her finished character was awesome and the tattoos worked great. She kind of looks like a little biker. All she needed was a motorbike and a little leather jacket. She not my child, so I couldn’t include a picture of her full outfit, but trust me it was so cute and really well done.

oUnfortunately for me, my niece decided, one of the things tattoo girl does is tattoo other people. Being the only other person in the house, I ended up being covered in tattoos too and got renamed tattoo sister (Orly came up with it).

rShe really went all out. I think she put more tattoos on me, than she put on herself. Most importantly, she had great fun being tattoo girl and really enjoyed herself. It’s funny how something as simple as a packet of temporary tattoos, can bring a child so much entertainment and happiness.

20170524_112316Yeah, she literally didn’t miss a spot.  Pretty much stuck a tattoo on every part of my arms that wasn’t covered by my sleeves.

yTo be honest, I didn’t mind being used as her play subject, this time. I quite like my new temporary tattoos, especially the elephant and candy skull. When she decides to include me in her games, I usually end up a lot worser for wear than this. This time, I got some cool tattoos and escaped without injury, so was a good day for both of us.

Leave a Reply

