The Seven Deadly Sins (Season One)

m5

It took all my strength to add colour and ink this. I usually don’t use colour in this way, on my paper drawings. I’m a bit more extreme with colour (like in my Tokyo Ghoul drawings). It looks nice in colour, but felt really weird and unnatural doing this, so I included an image of before I added colour and inked it.   

Netflix Original

My first impression of The Seven Deadly Sins was, wow that’s a lot of man boobs (moobs). Seriously, all the male Holy Knights looked like, they were into steroid abuse and as a consequence, had quite the pair of moobs. It was hilarious. Weirdly, the older the Holy Knight, the bigger his moobs were. Leaving me to think, they grow with age or something. Luckily, the main characters didn’t look like, scary He-men. They were more like, underwear models.

Seven deadly sins, takes place in a time, were the human and non-human worlds are not yet fully separate. To protect the people from the dangers of the non-human worlds, the Holy Knights are formed, from humans with magical powers. The Holy Knights are meant to protect the people and prevent a Holy War breaking out, that would bring an apocalypse like catastrophe, to the human world. However, a group of Holy Knights plot against the King, to bring about this Holy War.

They take the King and his daughters captive and plan to open a portal to the demon world, that would start the Holy War. The King’s adoptive daughter Elizabeth, escapes and seeks the help of The Seven Deadly Sins, to stop this group of Holy Knights.

Elizabeth quickly finds the Captain of Seven deadly sins (Meliodas), but learns the seven deadly sins have split up, to hide from the law, as they are fugitives. Elizabeth and Meliodas, with his pet pig Hawk, join forces to search for the remainder of the Seven Deadly Sins and stop the Holy Knights, before it’s too late.

1870af51-4d5d-4329-820b-c80cecc38aa8I was really surprised by this series. I went into it thinking, it might be too manly for my taste and that it would be all, guys running around fighting, with shiny, shiny swords and pretty colours. Instead, I loved every minute of it. There was just something about it, that made it so fun to watch.

The story, was your basic anime storyline and what you expect from this sort of anime. The hero fights the villain and wins the heart of the girl. It did have a few twists thrown in and some really good character building. Other than that, it was your typical anime storyline. I think, what made the seven deadly sins, so enjoyable was its humour and its characters.

I found this anime hilarious. I spent most my time laughing like a mental patient, while watching it. At times, I wasn’t even sure, what I was laughing at or if it was, intentionally funny. I just found the whole series beyond funny.

It had both dark and ironic humour, which is personally my favourite types of humour. It had comical violence, a few subtle dirty jokes and hilariously cheesy cringe worthy moments, to top it off. Making seven deadly sins, one of the funniest anime, I’ve watch yet. Comedy, isn’t something I’ve come by often, in anime. Especially, well done comedy.

m2

My apologies. It’s very hard to see. My Meliodas drawing, before I added colour.  

The characters are also amazing and you really grow to love them. They’re all slightly eccentric, in their own unique way and have strange personality quirks. Occasionally, this lead to personality clashes, making their interactions, very amusing to watch.

However, I suspect some of the characters, have a few mental issues (a massive under statement). Especially, the members of the Seven Deadly Sins. One, has an obsessive need to steal people’s clothes, while they’re still wearing them and has delusions, about bringing his dead child-girlfriend (it’s so creepy) back to life, at any cost. Another, seems to have a stalker relationship with the Captain and has abandonment and anger issues. I suspect one member, is very, very depressed and is a bit insecure and anxious, due to his unusually attachment, to his giant teddy bear. I also suspect another member, has Asperger syndrome or may be a sociopath playing one hell of a game and putting on an act.

Then there’s, the main character Meliodas. It’s pretty obvious, there something very wrong with him. He seems nice, sweet and cheery and a complete pervert, most of the time. But then, he blacks out and becomes hard-core, psychotic and unresponsive. This happens, in the click of a light switch and he has no memory, of being in this state. I really liked this character, but he’s kind of scary. Looking like a muscular 10-year-old, really doesn’t help the matter. Luckily, his sure likeability and good-heartedness, makes up for his scary side, making him one of the series best characters.

16d1341c-ab8b-4156-b1cd-2d04566ae9d1The sanest character is worryingly the pig, Hawk. However, it’s these flaws that make most of the characters, really likeable and entertaining. They done a great job of building background stories, for these characters, making it easy to connect with and understand them. You can truly see where they’re coming from and empathise with them. This allow you to become, fully engrossed in the storyline and really back certain characters.

I only have a few criticisms of the seven deadly sins, one being the animation. It wasn’t that great. It reminded me of older anime. I feel they could have used light and colour a bit better, to enhance battle scenes and empathise the characters magical abilities. In saying this, I did like how the eyes were animated. It was really interesting and matched the characters personalities and state very well.

My other criticism, was the plot armour. I’m pretty sure the seven deadly sins, are some type of undead task force. They literally wouldn’t and couldn’t die. At one point in the anime, they were all very close to dying, but then someone conveniently had magic healing powers and completely healed everyone. Another time, the sin of lust actually died, but somehow came back it life. It was very unsatisfying. There were just times the plot armour, was completely ridiculous and annoying.

The seven deadly sins, hasn’t made its way, into my top 10 favourite anime, but overall, it’s still a really good series. I would highly recommend it, if you like anime. I had a lot of fun and enjoyment watching it and could easily watch it again. It had a ton of action and fight scenes, interesting back stories and the characters were very entertaining and very kind to the eyes. I found this series extremely funny and was really easy to watch. It would suit those, looking to watch something not too serious and wanting a bit of a laugh.

I’m definitely going to watch season 2.
Rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

