Woohoo, I’m Finally Finished! (The Winter Sun and Bathing in a River of Poison)

paint1This last week or so, I’ve not been posting at my usual rate. However, this has been for a very nice and creative reason. The reason being, I’ve been messing around with paint in my free time and I truly mean messing.

Last time I painted, was as a child. As an adult, painting is actually kind of intimidating and sharing what I’ve painted, is even more nerve-wracking. These are my first attempts at painting. I hope you enjoy. If anything, I’ll up lift your mood with my attempts at painting.

thumbnail_20170929_144136I started off with watercolour. As you can see from the shape of my page, some thorough messing took place.

thumbnail_20170929_193219But, it’s fine. I just waited until it was dry and painted a winter tree on the page. Then pretended that, I meant to do this and named the piece, The Winter Sun.

After my messing with the watercolours, I had to be a bit more serious with the Acrylic paint and actually set of to paint something. Which was kind of hard, when all I wanted to do was throw the paint at the page and see what happens.

thumbnail_20171002_165420

The pretty purple colour I used in the first layer.

The Acrylic paint wasn’t as straight forward as the watercolours and had to be done in layers. So, it took a hell of a longer to complete and because of this, I thought it might be nice to share each stage of the process, instead of just posting the finished piece.

thumbnail_20171002_165203Layer 1- Painting the blueprints.Drawing lightly in pencil first, might have been a better idea. I just painted straight onto the paper and I messed up a lot.

thumbnail_20171003_174707Layer 2- Adding colour and trying to correct my mistakes in Layer 1. Essentially, were you can save the painting and hide your muck ups.

thumbnail_20171004_160703Layer 3- Highlights and adding light and white. (Last Layer)
I like to give everything a name, so I’ve named this painting, Bathing in a River of Poison.

Hope you enjoyed this post. I had loads of fun messing with paints, but to be honest I still prefer pencil drawing a lot more.

8 thoughts on “Woohoo, I’m Finally Finished! (The Winter Sun and Bathing in a River of Poison)

Leave a Reply

